Aim Cupid’s Arrow…at Yourself

1 Mar

Above: Graffiti on the side of Jo’s Coffee in Austin, Texas. Can you smell the roses? The conversation hearts? The CHOCOLATE(Oh my!) and other temptations? Yep, Valentine’s Day is around the corner.

It’s been said that Love conquers all. While I believe that’s true, I obviously believe that Health conquers all as well. As far as I’m concerned, the two go hand in hand. If you love yourself, you’ll give your body the respect to treat it to a healthy lifestyle. If you are healthy, you will be able to love others and yourself fully and truly. This is a cycle and I don’t think that you can have one without the other. Love is wonderful, but if it’s not a HEALTHY love, what’s the point?

On a personal note, I have found love and respect for my body through various support systems and programs, including the one that I coach for. It has not not always been that way. Unfortunately, I didn’t always care that much about what I ate or how I treated my body. However, I found that once I started eating more healthfully, I was able to think more clearly, become more productive, and focus more on the things that matter most to me: my friends and family.

Cupid works in mysterious ways. Whether or not you have a Valentine this year, it is important to love yourself first, and the rest will follow. Work, kids, and everyday responsibilities can have a way of driving us nuts. Instead of dwelling on negative things in your life , count your valentines.Find those people in your life that bring love and light into your life and tell them just how much you love them.

3 Responses to “Aim Cupid’s Arrow…at Yourself”

  1. heart, hopes, and dreams March 2, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s hard to truly love others if you can’t learn to love yourself first:) Looking forward to following more of your blogs!

  2. Ajit Nathaniel March 22, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    Hi Meg,
    This post really struck a chord. For the past two years I have been working very hard to reverse many years of self neglect. A healthy life is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

