Using ‘Pinspiration’ to Meet your Weight Loss Goals

15 Mar

Have you heard of …

   ?

It’s one of the newest and hippest websites working its way up the popularity ranks. It has a social networking component to it like Facebook or Twitter, but ultimately, you create your own Pinboards. But what is a pinboard, you ask?
 
Remember the days when you spent hours with glue, scissors, and a stack of magazines, making collages? You made collages for school projects, to inspire yourself, or to display your love of Leonardo DiCaprio (okay, maybe that was the tween version of me, circa 1997). 
 
A pinboard is kind of like that, except there’s no mess or assembly required, since it’s done virtually. And in lieu of old magazines you have the whole web to use at your disposal. Sweet, right?
 
You can design a Pinboard about anything and name it yourself. People make pinboards about anything that interests them: recipes, weddings, party planning, photography. Sky’s the limit.  
 
You can even use pinboards to help you meet your health goals. 
 
It has been proven that setting concrete goals and visualizing them can help you to meet them. Search “healthy meals” or “exercise” in Pinterest, and you’re instantly flooded with images of toned bodies, tantalizing and healthy recipes, and suggestions for exercises to get the body that you’ve always wanted. It’s instant inspiration. 
 
Pinboards look something like this:
 
If you haven’t yet, meander over to Pinterest and start pinboard to help you meet your health and wellness goals! Transform the swirling ideas of what you want in your head into concrete, tangible, and inspiring pinboards.
11 Responses to “Using ‘Pinspiration’ to Meet your Weight Loss Goals”

  1. thebestme4me March 19, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I love Pinterest! It is such a great tool to organize your “online finds”!

    • Health Coach Meg March 20, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      I agree! It is such an amazing resource and a source of inspiration for meeting your goals!

  2. noajayne March 22, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    The absolute first pinboard I started was for healthy food recipes! Shortly after that came the exercise/workout pinboard. Love pinterest!

    • Health Coach Meg March 22, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      I love it! The health inspiration is so easy to find on Pinterest!

  3. hopefuladdict March 23, 2012 at 4:24 am #

    I love Pinterest! They’re my little vision boards!!! I’ve started doing exactly what you’re suggesting…I found it really does keep me motivated!!

  4. xine23 March 25, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    I use Pinterest for 90% of the pictures I put up on my blog, I love it!!

  5. Paul Johnson March 26, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    Sounds like a great idea! I might just have to break down and get a pinterest account. Then again, maybe I’ll stick with the old way for a while 😉

    • Health Coach Meg March 26, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

      I must say, I don’t see too many men hanging around Pinterest. Get on there and show ’em how it’s done!

      • Paul Johnson March 26, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

        I may just do that! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

