A Refreshing Perspective

20 Mar

I caught First Lady Michelle Obama last night on David Letterman.

All politics aside, I think that she is an extremely smart, kind, and sensible woman. I especially appreciate her views and values on how to raise children and how to help our obesity epidemic.

She made a point that the average American child spends 7.5 hours in front of a screen a DAY. You read that right. 7.5 hours. What happened to playing outside? As a teacher, I saw this scenario over and over again: kids coming to school exhausted and unable to concentrate. The reason they gave me? They were up late playing video games.

I could ruminate all day on this topic, but instead,  I’ll leave you with the video. She discusses a plethora of topics with Letterman, but around minute 4 is where she addresses childhood obesity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5e1R0lliFHc&feature=youtu.be

If you can, I think that it’s worth watching all three parts!

Feel free to comment and I’ll catch you all soon.

Meg

6 Responses to “A Refreshing Perspective”

  1. thebestme4me March 20, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Ah, yes, we teachers see it all! Our school implemented a “screen free” week every year. Encouraged families to turn off tv’s, computers, ds, etc. We held activities at school for the week: math/science activity night, sledding night. The kids pulled out board games they had forgotten about and the parents tuned into their kids!
    Actually, career wise, this is the shift I would love to move toward…childhood health/wellness!

    • Health Coach Meg March 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      Wow…I love that idea! I think that we all need to be reminded to get away from our screens, get outside, and get active!

  2. Toni Thorn March 21, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    nutritionally endangered! love it 😉

  3. JJ Maverick March 23, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    I always get shocked looks from parents when they hear that my son (6yo autistic kindergartener) is only allowed to watch 1 movie a day. He has a tablet to play with once in a while when we need some quiet time too… But being a poor example of screen-free living makes it hard for him to understand why we don’t want him to sit in front of a screen all the time. We’ve made a point to get physically interactive games for him to play on the Wii (when he gets to play) and when he asks to go outside and play, we make it as accessible and fun as possible!

    • Health Coach Meg March 23, 2012 at 2:04 am #

      Good for you! I have worked with children for years and years and as a teacher and nanny. I know that screen time, especially in the early years, should be replaced with books and time outside! But aside from this, we need to be examples for our kids in our activity and eating habits.

Leave a Reply

