Foodumentaries

23 Mar
“Have you seen Back to the Future?”
“No.”
Star Wars?
*Shakes head side to side*
“SERIOUSLY? The GODFATHER?
“NO! I have, however, seen Homeward Bound 2:Lost in San Francisco? Does that count?”
(Listen, I went to the theater to see Happy Gilmore and the theater was full. Please don’t judge.)
This type of dialogue happens on a weekly basis with me. Listen, I’m not a big movie person. If the film has something to do with action, science fiction, or anything remotely suspenseful or far-fetched, I’m not going to watch it. If you try to make me watch it, I will fall asleep immediately in an act of protest!
I know, I know.  You’re probably wondering WHY anyone would have this attitude towards movies! The blasphemy!
I can explain. I am a realist. I also have a short attention span. Therefore, I need to watch something that is either going to be relative to my life (documentaries), or at least make me smile and laugh (comedies and rom-coms).
I am a complete sucker for documentaries. I must say that over the past few years, I have watched a large number of documentaries and they have, in fact, changed the way that I view food. In particular, I have watched a majority of the documentaries listed below:
I am aware that with most documentaries, they are only showing one side of the story. However, there are a lot of stories about food that need to be told. Watch and then you can form your own opinions.
What are some documentaries that you have enjoyed or have changed the way that you look at food?
Until we meet again,
Meg
8 Responses to “Foodumentaries”

  1. Rachel Griffin March 23, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    I love documentaries too!

  2. Paul Johnson March 26, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    I must agree with your sentiments on movies as well. Now that I’m trying to eat and live healthier, I’m getting more into documentaries as well. I absolutely loved (in a stomach-churning sort of way) Super Size Me. I’ll have to check out the other documentaries in the list. Thanks for the link!

    • Health Coach Meg March 26, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

      You’re welcome, Paul. One that’s not of the list is “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead”. REALLY good stuff!

      • Paul Johnson March 26, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

        I’ll add it to my list. Thanks again!

  3. runs4wine March 26, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    I am also a Foodumentary junkie, my boyfriend makes fun of me. Netflix has added some great CNBC specials on food. The one in particular that I found myself yelling at the TV about had a bit about vending machines in schools. Many the kids they showed at that particular school were morbidly obese, and that makes me so sad. Watching them has had a huge impact on how I view food. Totally agree on Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. It was very well made.

  4. livingafter30 March 27, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    I’ve only seen #1, but am going to watch the others. Thanks for sharing the list! Although I haven’t watched The Cove because I’m such an animal lover that I think it would mess me up for a few days.

    I recently watched a show on TLC called “My 600# Life”. It was a documentary that followed 6 (or maybe 7) morbidly obese people over a 7 year period as they underwent weight loss surgery to try and save their life. I know it isn’t a movie, but it really opened my eyes to how important your surroundings are in creating a healthy environment. Learning about how these people got to be 600# and how they struggle to lose the weight after surgery, it is all about their environment (people, places, etc).

    http://tlc.howstuffworks.com/tv/my-600-lb-life/about-my-600-lb-life.htm

  5. livingafter30 March 27, 2012 at 3:36 am #

    While adding movies from the list to my Netflix Instant Queue I came across this one:

    Ingredients
    2009 NR
    66 minutes
    Narrated by actress Bebe Neuwirth, this engaging documentary weighs the shortcomings of America’s industrialized food system against a rising local-growth movement, whose proponents are shrinking the gap between farmland and dinner table. With chefs Alice Waters and Greg Higgins as guiding lights, growers, restaurateurs and consumers around the country, from Oregon to Harlem, New York, discuss their methods for bringing food production back home.

  6. Cassy March 27, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    So far, I have only watched The Cove… but it was quite heart wrenching. I love movies, but I am really big on non-fiction reading right now so I kind of have the same conversation except instead of movies, it’s books! =)

Leave a Reply

